It is important to understand that South Ribble Conservative Association doesn't just cover wards in South Ribble alone.

Instead it branches out into areas that fall under the governance of other local councils including Chorley and West Lancashire.

The wards of 'Lostock' and 'Eccleston and Mawdsley' that fall inside the boundaries of Chorley Borough Council are actually within the South Ribble parliamentary constituency following changes made prior to the 2010 general election.

In addition the Parishes of 'Hesketh with Becconsall', 'North Meols', 'Rufford' and 'Tarleton', traditionally of West Lancashire, fall under South Ribble's constituency.

All of the above wards, together with the wards of South Ribble, are represented by Conservative MP Seema Kennedy.

However, like the above examples of cross border constituencies, there are wards that fall within the South Ribble Borough boundaries that belong to Ribble Valley Conservative Association. These include; Coupe Green & Gregson Lane, Farington, Samlesbury & Walton, Lostock Hall and Bamber Bridge.